About District Yamunanagar, Haryana

    District Yamunanagar, Haryana came into existence as District on Ist November, 1989. Its area is bounded with 1756 square kilometers, in which 473 Panchayats, 655 Revenue Villages, 4 Tehsils ( Jagadhri, Chhachhrauli, Bilaspur, Radaur ) and 3 Sub-Tehsils ( Sadhaura, Saraswati nagar, Partap nagar) are existed. Earlier The District Yamunanagar was known to Abdullapur. A large part of the District Yamuna Nagar comes into the Shiwalik foothills. Yamuna River flows from Yamunanagar District and Hathnikund barrage is located on the Yamuna River in Yamuananagar District. Sugarcane, wheat, and rice are their main crops, and being good potency and fertility, the farmers are also used to seed popular trees. The Industrial Environment is praiseable and It is an important Industrial City having metal, utensil, and plywood industries blessed with Shri Gopal Paper Mills and Saraswati Sugar Mills (the biggest Sugar mill in Asia).

    Yamuna Nagar district is bounded by the state of Himachal Pradesh in the north 30° 17′ latitude, by the state of Utter Pradesh in the east and southeast by the districts of Karnal and Kurukshetra in the south-north by Ambala District in the east. Yamuna Nagar District is located at a height of 274 mt. from the sea level. The district is located in Topo shet No. 53/F,2,3,4,7,8,11 and 12 of Survey of India

    Yamuna Nagar At a Glance:

    • Distance: 106 Km from Chandigarh.
    • Linking Roads: Situated on the National Highway No. 73
    • Postal Code: 135001
    • STD Code: 01732
    • Longitude: 77.26 Latitude: 30.12
    • Area: 1,756 sq. km
    • Altitude: 255 m
    • Population: 12,14,162 (Census 2011)
    • Literacy Rate: 78.90 %
    • Best season to visit: All seasons to visit.